We are scheduled to have a Pennsylvania Hunter/Trapper Education Class at the Club for 2022
Use the link below to register for the Class:
You must know Chapters 1, 4, 5 and 9 of the "Study Guide for Hunting Education".
You can view those chapters in the study guide by using the link below:
Basic Hunter-Trapper Education Certification
By law, all first-time hunters and trappers, regardless of age, must successfully complete hunter education training before they can buy a Pennsylvania hunting or trapping license.
Free, In-Person Training is available to anyone 11 years and older. Some independent study is required prior to attending this 1-day, in-person session. Prepare for your class by reading chapters 1, 4, 5 and 9 of Today's Hunter & Trapper in Pennsylvania.
A training certificate recognized throughout North America is awarded when you pass a test at the end of the Pennsylvania Hunter-Trapper Education course. The training covers responsible hunting behavior, firearms basics and safety, basic shooting, wildlife conservation and management, outdoor safety and survival, hunting techniques, trapping and fur-taking basics, and hunting safety.
Concealed Carry and Home Defense Class at PSC
This class is scheduled for May 7, 2022
Did you know that if you just discharge your weapon into the air to scare an individual, you can be charged with attempted murder? You can learn more about this, proper shooting techniques, and the mindset that you need to have to deal with a violent encounter and much more.
You want safety and security for your family, but as a responsibly armed American, you realize that means much more than just owning a gun. With that thought in mind, PSC member Jay Scopel, a certified USCCA Conceal Carry Instructor, will be conducting a Concealed Carry & Home Defense Fundamentals course at the club. Even if you are not considering applying for a CCW permit in your state, this is a comprehensive course for anyone considering owning, carrying and/or having a firearm in their possession for self-defense. This class is open to PSC members and the public, and again, is even for those who are not considering carrying a firearm, but are considering having one in their home for protection.
As many of you know, our club has a relationship with the USCCA and as a club member in good standing, you can receive a discount on your monthly USCCA membership. A USCCA Membership brings you industry-leading education, training & the trusted legal protection you may need to protect your family with confidence. Join over 300,000 gun owners who’ve used the U.S. Concealed Carry Association to transform themselves into a community of responsibly armed Americans. The USCCA is dedicated to building safer communities by providing lifesaving training and resources to those in need.
There will be a limit of 20 students. There is a fee for this class, and as you can see by the curriculum below, you must be available at least 8 hours that day - as there will be approximately 6 hours of class time and 2 hours range time. Time for lunch will be allotted, but you must bring your own.
Date: May 7, 2022
Location: Colliers Sportsman Club
Times: 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Or Email: firstname.lastname@example.org
Concealed Carry & Home Defense Fundamentals
Concealed Carry and Home Defense Fundamentals is a comprehensive course for anyone considering owning or carrying a firearm for self-defense. The course is a guide to understanding conflict avoidance and situational awareness; home security and home defense; handgun, shotgun and AR-15 basics; shooting fundamentals; the physiology of violent encounters; the legal aspects of using deadly force (including knowing what to do in the aftermath); and a complete guide on gear, gadgets, and ongoing training.
This course will cover things you need to obtain your CCW in West Virginia. You may need an additional course to fully qualify for a CCW in Ohio.
What You Will Receive
Certificate of Completion
What To Bring and What to Wear
Ammunition - 50 rounds
Eye & Ear Protection
Use this link for more info that is posted on the USCCA site
USCCA membership info
October 24-25, 2020
AR-15 Training and Challenge
8:00 am to 11:00 am
Rifle Range - public invited
$10.00 per shooter
$5.00 per re-shoot
ECI, safety glasses and hearing protection required
Due to current ammo situation, the round count will be low. There will be ammo available for sale. Optics and shooting mat are optional.
Stage 1: Zero your sights - 10 to 20 rounds
Stage 2: Qualification - 10 to 40 rounds (optional)
Stage 3: Steel Change - 3 to 6 rounds (optional)
Stage 4: National Match - 15 to 30 rounds (optional)
Due to COVID restrictions imposed on events and gatherings in Pennsylvania, the Paris Sportsman's Club will not be conducting a Pennsylvania Hunter-Trapper Education course in the fall of 2020. We believe that the mandates limiting the class size, the logistics of social distancing in the hall, the inability to provide snacks, the responsibility of verifying that no one in the class has been exposed to any situation that warrants a 14 day quarantine, and not allowing parents/guardians to accompany attendees (unless they also register for the class, thus limiting the amount of attendees who need to take the class), will make it difficult to conduct a class this year. Also, each student will only be allowed to bring into the classroom a jacket, keys, phone and wallet or purse, so notebooks or other written materials are not permitted.
Alternatively, you may use the link below, to study and pass the Pennsylvania Hunter Ed Course online. The is a $19.95 fee for the online course.
PSC will host a Pennsylvania Game Commission HTE (Pennsylvania Hunter-Trapper Education) Class
Date: October 5, 2019
Time: 9:00 am to 4:00 pm
You must register using the link below on the Pennsylvania Game Commission site:
This is a six-hour training class required by law for all first-time hunters and trappers before they can buy a license. You must pass a certification exam at the end of the class to complete this training.
In order to prepare for your class, read Chapters 1, 4, 5 and 9 located at Today's Hunter & Trapper in PA.
You must be at least 11 years of age to register for this class!
Successful Pennsylvania Hunter Trapper Education class -
Instructors, John Sinnett, Randy Paulin, Steve Smith. 38 passing students on their way to become hunter of the safest sort. Also thanks to Dan Sittler - PGC Game Warden and Steve Ferrari - Cadet Class of 2018.
Mike Nogay, 24-year club member and nationally recognized authority on vintage fishing tackle spoke at our August meeting about collecting and valuing antique fishing tackle—-reels, rods and lures.
If you need more info on the subject, here are some links that might interest you. The links include the PA Hunting License County numbering system, where Pennsylvania’s counties are recognized by a numbering system from 1 to 67 in alphabetical order.
Old Reel Collectors Association, Inc. (ORCA):
ORCA Online Forum - Feel free to talk or ask about ALL kinds of old tackle here
National Fishing Lures Collectors Club (NFLCC):
Florida Antique Tackle Collectors (FATC):
Joe’s Old Lures collector’s forum:
Ron Gast’s antique tackle website:
The Old Tackle Box – PA county license numbers
Pennsylvania Hunter-Trapper Education - October 27, 2018
We will again offer the Pennsylvania HTE course at our club
Saturday, October 27, 2018 9:00am - 3:30pm
Use the link below and click the green “Register Now” button
NOTE: You must be at least 11 years of age to register for this class!
This is a six-hour training class required by law for all first-time hunters and trappers before they can buy a license. You must pass a certification exam at the end of the class to complete this training. Important: In order to prepare for your class, read Chapters 1, 4, 5 and 9 located at Today's Hunter & Trapper in PA.
Use the following link for online course study
Basic Hunter-Trapper Education (HTE)
By law, all first-time hunters and trappers, regardless of age, must successfully complete Hunter-Trapper Education training before they can buy a Pennsylvania hunting or trapping license. A training certificate, which is recognized throughout North America, is awarded when you pass a test at the end of the course. You must be at least 11 years old to enroll in a class. Parents are encouraged to attend with their children. The training is designed to produce safe, responsible, knowledgeable and involved participants. The results of this program are remarkable. Since 1959, hunting-related shooting incidents have declined drastically. Hunting is safe and getting safer, thanks to hunter education.
Watch here for a history of club events and news about our members